What’d I Miss?

Posted May 2, 2016 by LeahAdmin in Blogging & Challenges / 21 Comments

Alright lovelies, I’ve been away from the blogosphere for six months, and I’m pretty out of the loop. I feel like Jefferson coming back from Paris, minus the glorious hair and bravado.

What'd I Miss?

I have a lot of catching up to do. So, if you have a few minutes, help me get back into the swing of things by leaving a comment letting me know any or all of the following:

  • Your favorite post you wrote
  • Your favorite post written by someone else
  • Your favorite new or new-to-you blog
  • The best book you read recently
  • The upcoming title you’re most excited to read
  • Something exciting you want to share about your life

Thanks!

  • Yay! So glad you’re back. I already said that in another comment, but it still applies. I love this idea of getting back into the groove of things, too… mind if I borrow in June/July when various personal life madnesses end and I actually pay attention to things again?

    As for posts, I’ve been living almost exclusively in the land of assigned reviews for Shelf and week in reading posts (see above reference to personal life madnesses), but I have been writing a bit about running things: http://www.entomologyofabookworm.com/2016/04/some-days-are-better-than-others.html. I haven’t been discovering many new-to-me blogs, but I have been loving the new(ish) direction of Andi’s writing over at Estella’s Revenge, and very new direction of Tara’s blog at itstaraleigh.com (formerly Running N Reading). And Shaina’s post this week about Readathon and why it’s important to her brought along all the feels.

    I don’t know if this counts for any of your categories, but we’re doing a Social Justice Book Club group read bi-monthly and you should totally join us: http://www.entomologyofabookworm.com/p/social-justice-book-club.html

    And the best book(s) I’ve read lately is(are) the forthcoming Neil Gaiman collection of nonfiction, which is highly underlineable, and Dear Fang, with Love, which is just perfect.

    • Wow that was really, really long. Oops.

    • You’re totally welcome to borrow it!

      I’ll definitely read along with the Social Justice Book Club later this summer!

  • Interesting questions!
    Best book: Iza’s Ballad by Magda Szabo
    Best post from another blogger: Elena’s review of The Girls is wonderful https://booksandreviews.wordpress.com/2016/04/27/the-girls-by-emma-cline/#comment-5365

  • What an efficient way to get back in the swing of things! I’ll try to help you out with some of these:
    Fave Post: Coed Book Club Recs http://www.sarahsbookshelves.com/book-recommendation-lists/book-club-recommendations/coed-book-club-recommendations/
    Fave Post by Someone Else: too many to count, but they’re all listed in my monthly round-up posts
    New-To-Me Blog: Bits N’ Books (http://bitsnbooks.wordpress.com/) – reading and eating (2 of my favorite activities)
    Best Recent Book: Shelter by Jung Yun
    Upcoming Title: The Girls by Emma Cline
    Life: just started training for my second sprint triathlon…turns out April is a terrible weather month for tri training, but I’m making it work!

    • Thanks for sharing all of these! Judging from all the love, I’m going to have to read The Girls. Good luck with your triathlon training!

  • I’m so glad you’re back and I’m going to shove my review of Tender in your face because I think it’s a book you’d love. http://rivercityreading.com/2016/02/tender-belinda-mckeon.html

  • Ah, glad you’re back! I switched from a pure book + library blog to a more bookish lifestyle blog recently, and my favorite post is this list of modern books for fans of Pride & Prejudice. http://librarianstyle.com/2016/04/11/6-modern-books-fans-pride-prejudice/
    I totally second Shannon – Tender was great! I read it after seeing her review.
    I also recently loved Sweetbitter by Stephanie Danler.
    Up next on my pile is an ARC of The Girls by Emma Cline and a backlist historical The Fortune Hunter by Daisy Goodwin because I’ve been trying to figure out what flavor of historical fiction I like best.
    I’m really excited that my bookish internet friend Anna finally started a blog! http://www.annaverity.com/
    Upcoming excitement includes a trip to BEA and then off to spend two weeks in California for a much needed vacation. Cheers, and happy blogging!

    • I’m waiting on my library hold on Tender to come in! And I’ve been hearing such great buzz about The Girls.

      I follow Anna on Twitter but I didn’t realize she started a blog! Very excited to check it out.

      Have a great time at BEA!

  • These are hard questions – I had to think about it for a bit.
    Here’s a review for a book you might not have seen around much anywhere else:
    https://consumedbyink.ca/2016/04/17/boobs-women-explore-what-it-means-to-have-breasts-edited-by-ruth-daniell/
    And here’s a review for a book I love by a new favourite book blogger:
    http://readdiversebooks.com/review-the-book-of-negroes-by-lawrence-hill/
    Love the new look here!

    • I’m dying to read that book after your review, and I’m adding Read Diverse Books to my feed reader. Thanks!

  • Terra

    I like two very different books: World War Z which I just completed reading and The Way We Live Now by Anthony Trollope, which I am currently reading.

  • I read a great book for Reading Ireland Month that you might like. It’s Sara Baume’s Spill Simmer Falter Wither. My review is here: https://mybookstrings.com/2016/03/28/spill-simmer-falter-wither/

  • So it’s officially time for me to welcome you back with a stack of books for your reading list. Private Citizens by Tony Tulathimitte. Loved it and more people need to read it. Why We Came To The City by Kristopher Jansma. Actually, quite similar to Private Citizens with a touch of The Interestings thrown in. Eligilbe by Curtis Sittenfeld. Modern day Jane Austen in Cincinnati and it works really really well.

  • One of my favorite new blogs is Brown Books & Green Tea, and a book I’ve loved recently is Jane Steele 🙂 Welcome back!

  • I’ve been keeping this post saved in my reader for ages, hoping to have this time to pop back and answer your questions. After a month, I think I have to admit that I’m on too much of a blogging hiatus myself right now, but I did want to say a belated welcome back! 🙂