Author: Thomas Pierce

Book Review: Hall of Small Mammals by Thomas Pierce

Posted January 12, 2015 in Reviews / 9 Comments
Book Review: Hall of Small Mammals by Thomas Pierce

There are few things I love more than a slightly off-kilter short story collection in the vein of Karen Russell, Lucy Wood, and Margaret Atwood. I read Thomas Pierce’s debut short story collection Hall of Small Mammals as 2014 ended and 2015 began, and it fit the bill perfectly. The 12 stories in this collection verge on the surreal in the most delightfully profound ways. In the first story, “Shirley Temple Three,” a man who works for a TV show that clones […]